Board information

The ESGCT Board is composed of researchers and clinicians representing a broad range of European Countries. Board members are elected by nomination and vote at the Annual General Meeting which is usually held during the Annual Congress.

The President and Vice-President of the society are appointed for two years and the other members of the Board are appointed for three years. For full details of governance arrangements please see our constitution.

Current board

Hildegard Büning


Institute of Experimental Hematology
Hannover Medical School
Carl-Neuberg-Str. 1
30625 Hannover

Juan Bueren


División de Terapias Innovadoras en el Sistema Hematopoyético
Av. Complutense, 40
28040 Madrid

Axel Schambach


Hannover Medical School
Institute of Experimental Hematology OE6960
Hannover Medical School
Carl Neuberg Str. 1
Hannover 30625

Alberto Auricchio

General Secretary

Telethon Institute Of Genetics And Medicine
Via Pietro Castellino, 111
80131 Naples

Alessandro Aiuti

San Raffaele Telethon Institute for Gene Therapy
via Olgettina 58
20132 Milano

Claire Booth

UCL Institute of Child Health
30 Guilford St
London WC1N 1EH

Vincenzo Cerullo

Drug Research Program Faculty of Pharmacy
University of Helsinki
Biocenter 2 Viikinkaari 5E, 
00790 Helsinki 

Giuliana Ferrari

San Raffaele Telethon Institute for Gene Therapy
Via Olgettina 60
Milano 20132

Gloria Gonzalez-Aseguinolaza

Av Pio XII 55
Pamplona 31008

Zoltán Ivics

Division of Medical Biotechnology
Paul-Ehrlich-Str. 51-59
63225 Langen

Martino Alfredo Cappelluti

Student Board Member

Fanny Collaud

Student Board Member

Laura Torella

Student Board Member


Join our Board

If you would like to express an interest in becoming a Board member please don’t hesitate to contact for details of the nomination process; ESGCT members will automatically be emailed when positions become available.  Click here to view the board election process.

ECR & Student board members

The ESGCT offers up to 3 spaces on the ESGCT Board for co-opted student and early career researcher (ECR) members with special responsibilities for young investigators. You can read about it here.